(Case Management Administrator – Certified)

Initiated in 1997 by the Credentialing Advisory Board for Case Management Administrator Certification and supported by The Center for Case Management, Inc.,  this certification demonstrates professional recognition of the knowledge required to be a case/care management administrator, director, manager, educator, or supervisor of any case management service or independent practice throughout the continuum of healthcare.  It was specifically designed for individuals that are not front-line case managers but rather for those that are responsible and accountable for meeting the fundamental goals of case management services through others.

Case Management Administrators and faculty lead organizations in the development and implementation of strategies to achieve clinical quality, financial, and satisfaction outcomes. Their activities may include education, program design and collaboration, direct supervision, consultation and evaluation. The duties of a Case Management Administrator are mirrored in the five content categories of the certification exam:

I.    Management, Leadership

  • Collaboration with the Executive Team
  • Human Resource Management
  • Change Managemen

II.   Health care laws and regulations

  • Compliance, laws, and regulatory organizations
  • CMS Conditions of Participation
  • Legal Considerations for patient care related to Case Management

III. Development of a Continuum of Care

  • Service gap analysis
  • Risk-based contracting/bundled payment
  • Assessment of at-risk populations
  • Improving population health programs of care
  • ACOs
  • Functions of ED Case Management
  • Medical Homes and Medical Specialty “Neighborhoods”
  • SNFs—short and long-term
  • Homecare and Hospice
  • OP services of physical and mental health
  • Community services and resources
  • Roles to manage patients across the continuum
  • Care plans and paths to manage patients across the continuum
  • Skills need by professionals in the continuum
  • Trends towards consumerism

IV.  Tools of clinical case management practice

  • Case management-related software
  • Information technology
  • Assessment and intervention tools

V.   Using data to create information, understanding, and improvement

  • Data that is publically-available
  • Payer mix data
  • Quality data
  • Satisfaction data
  • Financial data
  • Physician utilization data/Practice profiles and feedback methods
  • Visual data displays
  • Using dashboards for case management services
  • Principles of Performance Improvement/CQI


The exam is administered by the Professional Testing Corporation (PTC), New York, NY, by computer in twice-yearly testing periods, scheduled at your convenience. The non-refundable fee is $375.00. Re-certification is required every 5 years to maintain CMAC, and may be accomplished through either re-testing or submission of applicable continuing education or teaching hour credits following payment of the fee.


Are you Eligible?


Meeting criteria within any one of the three broad categories listed below will be sufficient.

  1. General Criteria:
  • Master’s degree and one (1) year experience in case management administration;


  • Master’s degree and three (3) years experience as a case manager;


  • Bachelor’s degree and three (3) years experience in case management administration;


  • Bachelor’s degree and five (5) years experience as a case manager;


  1. Equivalent Certification Criteria: Active certification in one or more of the following organizations (Evidence of certification must be supplied upon application):
  • A-CCC from the National Board of Certification in Continuity of Care
  • ACM from the American Case Management Association
  • CRRN from the Rehabilitation Nursing Certification Board
  • CCM from the Commission for Case Manager Certification
  • CDMS from the Certification of Disability Management Specialists Commission
  • C SWCM (Certified Social Work Case Manager) and C ASWCM (Certified Advanced Social Work Case Manager) from the National Association of Social Workers
  • RN, C (Modular Certification in Nursing case Management) from the American Nurses Credentialing Center


  1. Faculty Criteria: Faculty in academic settings teaching graduate level courses in case management and/or case management related content will be admitted to the certification examination. Length of experience teaching case management and/or case management content must be:
  • Minimum of two consecutive academic semesters within a 24 month period


  • Two academic semesters within a 24 month period


  1. Physician involved in case management administration.

For Costs and Schedules and additional information visit:

The Professional Testing Corporation